Tbilisi Photo Festival 2014

     Magic Night of Photography was mixing the sounds of the world, making us part of the images exposed on the screens, the moods in pictures reflecting on us. Heavy rain was giving the beat to the endless night. We were in the heart of Old Tbilisi.

     Bringing world emotions, war and peace, beauty and ordinarity in one place - was Tbilisi Photo Festival for us. It is already the fifth time that Tbilisi is hosting a photo festival. Nestan Nijaradze, the director of the festival gathers photographers from all over the world to bring their work closer to people.

     The festival was focused on the events taking place in Ukraine, Syria, Turkey, Iran, Armenia, Azerbaijan. There were five main exhibitions and a Night of Photography with six screenings in the street of Old Tbilisi.

Press Conference

     Opening press conference was held on the 30th of September at the Writers’ House in Tbilisi. Organizers and sponsors gathered to wish the festival a good opening and warm, sunny days. It was raining. Justyna Mielnikiewicz, Polish documentary photographer, wore her sunglasses as a sign of upcoming sunny days, encouraging everyone to attend all the events. 

     After the press conference we had an interview with the photo festival’s organizer Nestan Nijaradze.  The information that many surprises are waiting for the fifth anniversary were not just words. The festival started its countdown. 

Day 1

     It seems, that Justina Mielnikiewicz’s ‘’sun glasses’’ pray worked out. Justina’s photo project “A Ukraine Runs Through it” opened the festival. The guests were enjoying the open-air exhibition near Meidan. Justyna said: “If there were no people like Nestan, I would have been sitting at home for 10 years, collecting photos, thinking I am not ready yet. I always think that I don’t work enough."

     Photos were hanging in all over Abnotubani historical walls. One should travel through very narrow paths to watch the exhibition. There was a big line of people who were passionately waiting for their turn to go deep into the photo. This was giving an intimacy to the viewers. When sun falls down, everyone gathered under the light to have a glass of wine, and to talk about their impressions. 

 

 

Day 2

     The crisis in Ukraine was the main focus of the exhibitions. On the second day of the festival Justyna Mielnikiewicz presented her project at the Frontline Georgia club. "Ukraine Runs Through it" was not a news projectbut the whole picture of the Ukrainian East and West division. Being not financed by any organization or media, the photographer traveled through Ukraine to find human stories in that suffering area.Sharing her experience she come across with in Ukrainian small villages and cities, she found out that in abandoned cities left people were struggling for their lives every day. Robin Forestier-Walker (/ http://robinforestierwalker.com/ ) a freelance journalist from Aljazeera presented his reports from Ukrainian city Donetsk, where he spent his most of the time, covering the Ukrainian issue: ''It was a fake war, - he said, - Anyways all sides are suffering." 

 

 

Day 3

     The day started with a workshop of Polish curator Adam Mazur.(http://cargocollective.com/adamazur) The workshop was about New Phenomena in Polish Photography After 2000. The meeting was full of different genres pointing out the new breath of art of polish photography. Mazur chose photos that were touching the issues of sexual minorities, sexism and free way of expression through photography Everyone was amazed with the stories that were shown in that causy dark room. He exposed the stories in the dark, cozy room. It felt like we were revealing something forbidden, which we might have never come across in Internet.

    After the workshop, everyone was hurrying up to Marjanishvili Street, (TBC Bank gallery) where Robert Capa’s exhibition was waiting. In 1947 Robert Capa and writer John Steinbeck were traveling in USSR, and decided to visit also Caucasus, and the desire brought them to Georgia. The result of this visit was Steinbeck‘s book called ‘’Russian journal’’ illustrated by Robert Capa’s photos.  Back to nowadays, Capa’s photos are in Tbilisi. The photos are caring the history of those times of Georgia. The exhibition is open until October 17, 2014. 

 

Day 4

Night Photography

     The open air night started with Spasibo by Davide Monteleone, A Suitcase with Dad's Negatives of Boris Shaverdyan who is the Pioneer of Georgian Conceptual Photography. Boris Shaverdyan's exhibiton was a great fnding for us, as we never heard about him before. Besides being a conceptual photographer, he was a poet, combining his photos with a poetry or vice versa. Just after the exhibition, everyone harried to the city center, to find the 6 screens, where the night was ready to show the World’s love and hate, challenges and accomplishment, war and peace. Photographers from different counties where screened in 6 different locations in the city center. Going from one place to another, you were feeling yourself enriched with lots of information about hidden photographers and their arts.Despite the heavy rain, the amount of people was not reducing during the whole night. Going somewhere, drinking a hot tea, and coming back to the exhibitions had  become a very nice routine of the night for the audience.

 

 

 

Day 5

     …and every start has its end. 

 

      On October 5, the Soviet Georgian Photographer Rezo Kezeli’s exhibition “A Man with an Accordion” held at the Europe House Georgia, closed the festival. 

 

Contact Information

For contact information about Tbilisi Photo Festival you can find here: 

http://www.tbilisiphotofestival.com/index.php?pg=cn

Here is the list of the photographers, presented during the night photography. Enjoy!

 

Screen 01

Angkor Photo Festival - http://angkor-photo.com/

Gael Turine - http://www.gaelturine.com/

Misha Friedman - http://mishafriedman.viewbook.com/

Mohammad Golchin - http://www.mohammadgolchin.com/

Moises Saman - http://www.magnumphotos.com/C.aspx?VP3=CMS3&VF=MAGO31_10_VForm&ERID=24KL535GR6

Orlando Garcia - http://www.proyectosiamesphotos.com/en/artista/orlando-garcia

Sophal Neak- http://angkor-photo.com/workshop-photo-prize/

Alessio Romenzi - http://alessioromenzi.photoshelter.com/

Metrography - http://metrography.photoshelter.com/

Aram Karim- http://www.corbisimages.com/photographer/aram-karim

Zmnako Ismael - http://www.corbisimages.com/photographer/zmnako-ismael

 

Screen 02

Ukrainian Documentary Photography

Arthur Bondar - http://www.arthurbondar.com/

Oksana Yushko - http://www.youok.ru/

Alex Furman - http://www.memoryofadream.com/

Andrei Lomakin - http://andlomakin.com/

Roman Pilipey - http://www.corbisimages.com/photographer/roman-pilipey

 

German Documentary Photography

Andreas Meichsner - http://www.andreasmeichsner.de/

Uwe H Marin - http://www.uwehmartin.de/

Merlin Nadj Torma -  http://www.throughmyeyes.de/

 

Wolfgang Muller - http://www.wmueller-photography.de/index.php?/projects/mingong--the-pursuit-of-happiness/

Ostkreuz Agency - http://www.ostkreuz.de/en/

Maurice Weiss- http://www.goethe.de/ins/ae/en/abu/kul/mag/bku/nth/12388953.html Article about the photographer, photos can be found in the agency site

Thomas Meyer- http://www.thomas-meyer.com/

Pepa Hristova - http://www.pepahristova.com/book/1/

Lin Schroder - http://www.linnschroeder.de/

Julian Röder - http://www.julianroeder.com/

Ute Werner Mahler – Article about the photos shown Photos festival night http://www.thegreatleapsideways.com/?ha_exhibit=portraiture-and-recognition-ute-werner-mahlers-monalisen-der-vorstadte

Dawin Meckel - http://www.dawinmeckel.de/

Annette Hauschild - http://www.ostkreuz.de/en/photographers/annette-hauschild/

 

Screen 03

Russian Documentary Photography

Denis Sinyakov - http://denissinyakov.com/

Maria Turchenkova - http://mariaturchenkova.com/

Maria Pleshkova - http://mariapleshkova.com/

Misha Friedman - http://mishafriedman.viewbook.com/

 

Gallery Container

Tina Kiguradze - https://www.facebook.com/kiguradzephotography/info

Giorgi Dadiani - http://www.giorgidadiani.com/

Levan Chkhatarashvili - http://photographers.ge/address/profile/user_id/16/lang/2 his profile on photographers.ge

Mariam Sitchinava- http://mariam.ge/

Nino Alavidze her photos on http://agenda.ge/photogallery/155/eng

Olegito - https://www.facebook.com/olegitostudio

Tamta kalatozishvili- https://www.facebook.com/fotograf.zigi

 

Screen 04

Kaunas Photo Gallery - http://www.kaunasgallery.lt/en/

Virgilijus Sonta - http://www.mmcentras.lt/index.php?id=2&lang=en&Sid=235

Donstas Stankevicius - http://donatasstankevicius.com/

Evaldas Butkevicius - http://www.kaunasgallery.lt/en/

 

Armenian Photography

Arthur Lumen Gevorgyan - http://www.lumenwedding.com/

Zaza Daraseli Foundation &IQ School joint Project Workshop for the photojournalist

Vakho Khetaguri - http://vakhokhetaguri.com/

Giorgi Shengelia - http://www.phmuseum.com/giorgishengelia

Dato Koridze - https://www.flickr.com/photos/47169737@N04/

Tamar Mirianashvili - http://about.me/litterator

Giorgi Nakashidze - https://www.flickr.com/photos/44675433@N07/

 

Screen 05

Tbilisi Photography House- https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tbilisi-Photography-House-%E1%83%97%E1%83%91%E1%83%98%E1%83%9A%E1%83%98%E1%83%A1%E1%83%98%E1%83%A1-%E1%83%A4%E1%83%9D%E1%83%A2%E1%83%9D%E1%83%92%E1%83%A0%E1%83%90%E1%83%A4%E1%83%98%E1%83%98%E1%83%A1-%E1%83%A1%E1%83%90%E1%83%AE%E1%83%9A%E1%83%98/160175390689189?fref=ts

Laury Alberts

Misha Mordasov - http://mmordasov.com/

Iranian Photography

Shadi Ghadirian - http://shadighadirian.com/

Peyman Hooshmandzadeh - https://www.facebook.com/Peyman.Hooshmandzadeh/info

Newsha Tavakolian - http://www.newshatavakolian.com/

Arash Hanaei - http://www.arashhanaei.com/

Mehran Mohajer - http://www.photography-now.com/artist/mehran-mohajer

Mitra Taabrizian - http://mitratabrizian.com/

OSI Documentary Photography Project Workshop

Rena Effendi - http://www.refendi.com/

Mery Agakhanyan - http://filmphotoindividual.com/

Karen Mirzoyan - https://www.facebook.com/mirzoyanpage

Hayk Bianjyan - http://www.bianjyan.com/

Akhtar Soomro - http://widerimage.reuters.com/photographer/akhtar-soomro

Barat Ali Batoor - http://www.batoor.com/

Farzana Wahidy - http://www.farzanawahidy.com/

 

Azerbaijanian Photography

Mark Rafaelov - https://500px.com/MarkRafaelov

Jahangir Youssouf - http://www.jahangiryoussouf.com/

Zamir Suleymanov - http://www.phmuseum.com/baizamir/photos

Elmar Mustafazadeh - http://mustafazade.blogspot.com/

 

Screen 06

National Geographic Georgia - http://nationalgeographic.ge/

Thomas Dworzak/ Magnum Photos- http://www.magnumphotos.com/C.aspx?VP3=CMS3&VF=MAGO31_10_VForm&ERID=24KL5359SL

VII Agency - http://viiphoto.com/

Stephanie Sinclair - http://viiphoto.com/author/stephanie-sinclair/

John Stanmeyer - http://www.stanmeyer.com/

Martin Schoeller - http://martinschoeller.com/

Andrea Bruce/Noor - http://noorimages.com/photographer/bruce/

 

Georgian photography

Anka Gurjabidze - http://www.ankagujabidze.com/

Daro Sulakauri - http://www.darosulakauri.com/

Dina Oganova/Dikarka - http://dikarka.ge/

George Gogua - https://www.facebook.com/GoguaOfficial

Eana korbezashvili - https://www.facebook.com/EanaPhotography

 

European Prospects - www.europeanprospects.org

David Barnes - http://www.davidbarnesphotographer.com/

Alicia Bruce - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Alicia-Bruce-Photography/229751350371301

Tina Carr & Annemarie Schone - http://www.europeanprospects.org/tina-carr-annemarie-sch%C3%B6ne

John Duncan - http://jduncanphotography.zenfolio.com/

Elin Høyland- http://www.elinhoyland.com/

Micha Iwanowski - http://www.michaliwanowski.com/

Anna Kurpaska - http://annakurpaska.wix.com/photo

Mindaugas Azusilis - http://www.mindaugasazusilis.com/

Catrine Val - http://www.catrineval.de/

Anturas Valiauga - http://www.europeanprospects.org/arturas-valiauga

Arnis Balcus - http://www.balcus.lv/

Katharina Gaenssler - http://www.katharinagaenssler.de/startseite/?l=e

Julian Germain - http://www.juliangermain.com/

Ken Grant - http://www.ken-grant.info/

Martin Kollar - http://www.martinkollar.com/

Geraldine Lay - http://www.geraldinelay.com/

Eva Leitolf - http://www.evaleitolf.de/works.html

Frederic Lezmi - http://lezmi.de/

Soren Lose - http://www.sorenlose.dk/

Andreas Meichscer - http://www.andreasmeichsner.de/

James Morris - http://jamesmorris.info/

Marcella Mulelr - http://www.europeanprospects.org/marcella-m%C3%BCller

Krzystof pacvholak - http://pacholak.net/

Jordis Antonia Schlosser - http://www.ostkreuz.de/en/photographers/jordis-a-schloesser/

Volker Schrank - http://www.volker-schrank.de/

Corinne Silva - http://www.corinnesilva.com/

Laurenz Theinert - http://www.theinert-lichtkunst.de/index.html

Remigijus Treigys- http://www.photography.lt/en.php/Photographers?id=127

 Arturas Valiauga - http://www.europeanprospects.org/arturas-valiauga

Music Copyright

Tigran Hamasyan

Tinariwen

 

More about GIPA Student Media

https://www.facebook.com/newscafe.ge?fref=ts

 

შექმნილია  “ჯამპსტარტ ჯორჯიას” მიერ